PriceWaterhouseCoopers: Director, Technology Infrastructure Services

PriceWaterhouseCoopers is looking for a Director, Technology Infrastructure Services.  I can’t find a good quotable section, but basically they want a high-level manager/leader for Canada in what they’re calling infrastructure services, which seems to revolve around IT infrastructure like the hardware, software, networking, groupware — the kind of stuff that many people would simply group under “IT”.

I’ll grant that I probably don’t qualify for this job, and perhaps I’m a little tired, but … I’ve read this position a couple times and I still don’t feel like I’ve really got a great sense for what the job’s about.  It’s got lots of action-oriented business words like Engage, Establish, Ensure, Enable.  There’s lots of emphasizers like world-class, key, essential, leader, innovation.

Maybe being able to clearly understand the position from this posting is the first requirement for potential candidates.  I don’t feel especially qualified to offer an opinion about it.  In any case, if you read it and it sounds like you, then go forth and talk to PWC about becoming the Director, Technology Infrastructure Services.  Sounds like an important position at a large company, so it can’t be all bad.

2 Responses to PriceWaterhouseCoopers: Director, Technology Infrastructure Services

  1. bryanf says:

    This may be overly cynical, but I’ve been working in technology jobs for over 15 years. (hmm, those two may be related…)

    My core experience is in Internet infrastructure design and systems administration, so this is the type of job that comes up in my searches. I don’t really classify this as a “technical job” per se, though obviously it’s managing a technical department.

    I’ve found, especially in large companies, technology positions at the Director level and sometimes even the Manager level are more designed for someone who knows how to manage budgets, people, and projects, and work well with other executives, not necessarily someone who knows much about the technologies involved.

    In this case, your ~30 staff (4 of whom are managers themselves!) will handle the tech stuff. You just have to work with their recommendations, juggle the projects and budgets, and manage expectations of the other executives and vendors.

    I would expect that if someone with an MBA and someone with a MS in Information Systems applied for this job, both of whom had managed technical staff in the past, that the MBA would be preferred. Most likely whoever they’re reporting to is an MBA, and so are their peers in the company.

    I’m not saying this is a bad thing, just how businesses (especially large ones) seem to work these days.

    This is one reason I tend to max out my searches at the level of team lead, or IT manager at a small company, where at least part of the time I’d be expected to do hands-on technical work. 🙂

  2. Geoffrey Wiseman says:

    Well, that’s certainly in keeping with the emphasis on business speak rather than what the candidate will actually be doing. 😉

    I’ve never worked for a very large company, mostly the small (5) to medium-sized (150) companies, so I don’t know that I have exposure to the mindset in a very large company. Certainly most of the technology executives I’ve worked with in medium-sized companies came from a tech background, although some of them also pursued MBAs, and all were at least somewhat capable of making a good impression on the “business” side of the business.

    That might not be true in the very large companies, such as PriceWaterhouseCoopers.

Leave a Reply

